The brighter side..

Purpose of life!

Posted on: March 31, 2010

I have been living all my life in an average sort of way.  But I always questioned that what is it about me that can be unique? What special thing am I born to do?

In short, I often wonder what is the purpose of my life?

Quite clearly, I’m not in this beautiful creation because Nature wanted me to work in an MNC.. or wanted me to build a house, buy a car for myself etc. If these things were important for any Soul, then they would have stayed with it FOREVER. Even after the Soul leaves the body!

But thats not the case. We do leave all these material things plus the pleasures associated with them – right here, where we made them.

Then what stays with us? Stays with us ‘Throughout’?

 What do we carry with us when we leave this body and move on to another one?

One thing that I have felt in life, and I’m sure most of us would agree – that as long as we have lived ONLY for ourselves, thought ONLY about our comforts and worked ONLY to uplift ourselves – its been a mess in the end!

Infact, as it goes – ” The best way to get depressed is to lock yourselves in a room, and keep thinking – What about me? What about me? What about me? “

So true!

But all the times when we have stepped out of our comfort zones and met people from the space of – “What can I do for you?” – life has suddenly expanded and the small-mindedness dropped!

Whenever I have been grateful to Nature for giving me all that I have –  I have felt an immense peace and joy bubbling inside of me!! But whenever I’ve been in a cribbing mode – complaining & regretting – I’ve felt the contraction inside..

So, thats the key!

Everytime I feel, whats the purpose of my life – I should convert that quest into an action and Serve people! When I’ll stop worrying about my own problems, have a large heart and become useful to people around me – thats when the real peace of mind will begin to flourish in my life!

And just imagine, if everyone’s purpose of life becomes Serving others around them – how beautiful the world would be! 🙂

Leave a comment